Board index DiabloSport Community Future Product Requests 42RLE Transmission 2006 Jeep Wrangler

42RLE Transmission 2006 Jeep Wrangler

Do you know of a future Product you would like us to make?

Moderator: mikel


Posts: 53574
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

TJTurbo wrote:
mikel wrote:
well, I cant see what the older i1 database had but your pcm and tcm cals are supported by the current i3 and t2 devices.


Okay, a few questions. So if I order the I3...would I have to uninstall my Banks tune in order for the I3 to work with my Jeep. If so, will I be able to transfer that Banks tune to the I3 and reinstall it?

Before I shell out $380 plus on a new tuner I want to be 100% sure it will be able to modify shift points, line pressure, possibly reduce torque management etc. Would I be able to return it if it does not?

Sorry for all the questions, I just don't want to waste $. If the I3 and T2 truly have this capability I promise you once the word gets out you will see an increase in sales!

We'll let you trade the i1 in for a credit of a little over $100.
There are no line pressure adjustments. Just WOT shift rpm, in addition to the preloaded tunes.
No end user TM adjustment, its already adjusted in the tunes.


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 28
mikel wrote:
TJTurbo wrote:
mikel wrote:
well, I cant see what the older i1 database had but your pcm and tcm cals are supported by the current i3 and t2 devices.


Okay, a few questions. So if I order the I3...would I have to uninstall my Banks tune in order for the I3 to work with my Jeep. If so, will I be able to transfer that Banks tune to the I3 and reinstall it?

Before I shell out $380 plus on a new tuner I want to be 100% sure it will be able to modify shift points, line pressure, possibly reduce torque management etc. Would I be able to return it if it does not?

Sorry for all the questions, I just don't want to waste $. If the I3 and T2 truly have this capability I promise you once the word gets out you will see an increase in sales!

We'll let you trade the i1 in for a credit of a little over $100.
There are no line pressure adjustments. Just WOT shift rpm, in addition to the preloaded tunes.
No end user TM adjustment, its already adjusted in the tunes.


Thanks

So it would probably be best to call you guys to get the ball rolling on this? As I stated before I would like to keep the Banks modified tune I have now which was probably actually fixed by you guys relating to a misfire at idle but also like to have the upgraded TM adjustments.

Oh I also have 2 of the green Predators...one for my old 02 Trans Am and one for my '06 Jeep pre turbo. I'm sure they are not worth as much but can they be traded in as well?


Posts: 28
I spoke with Banks on the phone today. Basically they said they should be able to write a custom tune for me on the I3 while leaving any transmission improvements you guys have made intact. I will however need to have both the I1000 and new I3 in hand to do so. Would it be a problem for me to get a credit back for the old I1000 after we get the Banks tune transfered? If not I will go ahead and order the I3.

Post Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:26 am

Posts: 53574
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Thats not necessary. I spoke to Bennie as well and explained it to him.

Just leave the I1000 tune in the Jeep, send the device here, and when you get the new one, it will load a stock chrysler file to the pcm then you can read a backup and we can make a new sidewinder tune to load.


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 28
mikel wrote:
Thats not necessary. I spoke to Bennie as well and explained it to him.

Just leave the I1000 tune in the Jeep, send the device here, and when you get the new one, it will load a stock chrysler file to the pcm then you can read a backup and we can make a new sidewinder tune to load.


Thanks

Is this the address I need to ship it to?
DiabloSport, LLC
1790 E. Airport Blvd.
Sanford, FL 32773

Also, should I just go ahead and order the I3 from the Diablo website now?


Posts: 53574
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

No, you'll need to call in and place the order and obtain an rma to return the i1000 to us. it will go to our Ogden, Utah headquarters.


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 28
mikel wrote:
No, you'll need to call in and place the order and obtain an rma to return the i1000 to us. it will go to our Ogden, Utah headquarters.


Thanks


Thank you Mike, it will be Mon or Tues of next week before I will be able to call as my job won't permit enough time to do so until then.


Posts: 28
Hi Mike, I have the new i3 tuner in hand and I'm thinking this Friday would be a good time for me to attempt this as it's my only day off. I will have the tuner updated etc before I call tech support.

When I call should I ask for you specifically or should any tech be able to handle this and can you give me a ball park idea of how many days my vehicle will be down? Thanks.


Posts: 53574
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

anyone will be able to help.

You'll only be down for an hour at the most?
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 28
I managed to read a copy and Jeff from Banks sent me the side winder tune. However, when I try to load any of the tunes I keep getting this
Attachments
20180316_161659.jpg
20180316_161659.jpg (1.97 MiB) Viewed 2677 times
20180316_183740.jpg
20180316_183740.jpg (1.31 MiB) Viewed 2677 times
20180316_183802.jpg
20180316_183802.jpg (1.53 MiB) Viewed 2677 times
20180316_183855.jpg
20180316_183855.jpg (1.63 MiB) Viewed 2677 times
20180316_183902.jpg
20180316_183902.jpg (1.55 MiB) Viewed 2677 times


Posts: 28
Okay, I know what I did wrong...I put Jeff's tune in the "tunes" folder. Then I restored the back up etc. until i got to this point. Hope I haven't fubared this thing up too bad. I haven't and won't crank it until I hear back from you guys on Mon. Thanks


Posts: 28
I also realized that the Banks Straight Shot water/meth controller stays powered up during the key on phase and might be interfering with the tuning process. I will disconnect it and have the battery on a 10 amp charger next time I call you guys.

Post Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:52 am

Posts: 53574
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

good catch, let me know how that helps.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:25 pm

Posts: 28
Well, I finally got the "heep" up and running again...thank's tech support!

Unfortunately there are no TCM cals supported on the device not even WOT shift points. It does however have the capability for a TCM tune so I will remain hopeful. I'm gonna drive it for a few days and see how the Diablo tune with the SideWinder PCM custom tune installed acts.

Post Thu Mar 22, 2018 11:35 am

Posts: 53574
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

so you have TCM tunes but not TCM parameters?

Thats odd...
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

PreviousNext

Return to Future Product Requests