Board index inTune i-1000 Technical Discussion General inTune forum 11-15 Ecoboost F150 support from Diablosport!

11-15 Ecoboost F150 support from Diablosport!

Post questions or any issues with your inTune here.

Posts: 53911
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Yes, thats fine.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 4
Question about the adjustable parameters on my inTune. I have a 2012 FX-4 ecoboost that is an absolute BEAST with the 93 octane tune. The question I have is on the adjustable parameter feature, I'm not a true gear head (I know enough to get in trouble though.. :P ) but how do I figure out when and how to use these custom features?? I wouldn't know when it's applicable to advance or retard the timing or how each direction is beneficial or harmful and especially when it could screw up my truck.
I feel with the pre-installed tune my shift points are good but then again what situation would I want to change them and what gear would be the primary focus? It seems my truck loves to stay in 3rd gear on slow downs and turning onto different roads..I guess it's good for gas mileage but it seems when I want to accelerate quickly it has this "rubber band, wind up" effect. I have to put it to the floor to get it to down shift and I'm mostly wanting a faster and more responsive acceleration. Is this an "adjustable" parameter??
Is there a "cheat sheet" that can give us hints or instructions to play with each of these adjustment features??
Last question..I switched to NGK plugs because they were a very high quality plug but your front page for the ecoboost recommended Ford factory and at a gap between .032-.035.... Is this the recommended gap because I have been running between .030-.031??....is that to narrow or should I open them up???

I know it's a lot of questions but I'm trying to pull everything this beast has out without doing anything stupid or costly.... :D...I appreciate any and all info you can provide.


Posts: 53911
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

best bet is to leave the tune the way we set it based on our R&D, the params are there for advanced users who plan to datalog and base changes on that data :)
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 4
Sounds good, don't want to mess up a good thing. What about the spark plug issue?


Posts: 53911
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

only 11-13 models should need upgraded plugs.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 4
I have a 2012 so that's in the years you said to upgrade plugs. What plugs do you recommend and what gap? I have lost power on the take off and low end and it's taking forever to top out where it used to scream on both. :cry:


Posts: 9
mikel wrote:
reading the stock tune from a PC (choose the download option) is much quicker than reading in the vehicle :)

Make sure to keep the door open if you are there for a while to keep the ignition from timing out.

Thanks



How do you set up the InTune for the "Download" option? Just curious.
11 KR EcoScrew 4x4, 3.73, 275/65/20's Michelin AT2's, K&N Dropin, DSinTune 91. Rancho Quiklift coming soon.


Posts: 53911
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Yes, go right to the new tune.

Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 744
any 2015 dead peddle issues PLEASE go to this thread and post everything there from now on so we can solve this.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=51870


Posts: 3
Location: South Georgia, USA
bryant250 wrote:
Sounds good, don't want to mess up a good thing. What about the spark plug issue?


bryant250,
Did you get an answer on what plugs and gap to use with the 87 & 93 tune? I have a 2013 ecoboost platinum with 77k miles on it. Got the Intune I1000 and am having very bad misfires using both of these tunes which cause the truck to go into limp mode when I get into the gas. Everything else on truck is stock.


Posts: 744
HFarr wrote:
bryant250 wrote:
Sounds good, don't want to mess up a good thing. What about the spark plug issue?


bryant250,
Did you get an answer on what plugs and gap to use with the 87 & 93 tune? I have a 2013 ecoboost platinum with 77k miles on it. Got the Intune I1000 and am having very bad misfires using both of these tunes which cause the truck to go into limp mode when I get into the gas. Everything else on truck is stock.




you need the motorcraft SP534

gap them at .028-.030


Posts: 3
Location: South Georgia, USA
Thanks DiabloMatt. That is what SHOULD be in my truck now, but I will order some new ones and check the gap. I have a feeling the factory plugs are all over the place on the gap from everything I read on other posts. Will let you know what happens.


Posts: 744
HFarr wrote:
Thanks DiabloMatt. That is what SHOULD be in my truck now, but I will order some new ones and check the gap. I have a feeling the factory plugs are all over the place on the gap from everything I read on other posts. Will let you know what happens.




yes they are.... had a guy on here that found from the factory half were 30 and half were like 45


Posts: 3
Location: South Georgia, USA
DiabloMatt wrote:
HFarr wrote:
Thanks DiabloMatt. That is what SHOULD be in my truck now, but I will order some new ones and check the gap. I have a feeling the factory plugs are all over the place on the gap from everything I read on other posts. Will let you know what happens.




yes they are.... had a guy on here that found from the factory half were 30 and half were like 45


I changed out my plugs yesterday. I did have the SP534 plugs in my 2013 f150 ecoboost, but just as everyone else has also found, they were gapped with 4 at .040 and 2 at .042. I gapped the new ones all at .029 and it runs much better now. It never did misfire (that I know of) running a stock tune with the old plugs, but spit and bucked like crazy on any of the Diablosport tunes. It has not sputtered any with the 87 tune so far on new plugs. You should put that in the instructions as a recommendation that people check their plugs before installing a tune. Makes a BIG difference.

Question: What effect does the tow/haul mode have on the truck with at Tune (87 or 93) installed?


Posts: 7
2014 F-150 ecoboost with i2020 programmer.

I just loaded a tune using the i2020 I got in the mail today. A few questions:

-the whole process took maybe 15 minutes and said it was successful. How can you tell what tune is currently loaded in the truck? I want to make sure it's actually there.

- I chose the 87 performance tune since I still have almost a full tank of 87. I'll switch to 93 on my next tank. While I was uploading the tune it said 93 octane on the bottom of the screen. Even though I chose 87. Why would it load 93 if I chose 87? That's another reason i need to know a way to tell what tune is currently loaded in the vehicle.

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Dave

Image

Edit: I went back to stock and tried selecting the 87 tune again. It said "Load 87 tune" and I said yes. When it wrote the tune it still said 93 on the bottom of the screen. I want to make sure I'm not really running a 93 tune with 87 gas.

PreviousNext

Return to General inTune forum