Board index i2/i3 Technical discussion i2/i3 for Ford vehicles 91 canned tune issues Q, is this by design?

91 canned tune issues Q, is this by design?

Post here with any questions you have regarding theuse of the i2 on supported Ford applications.

Moderator: sohfast94


Posts: 36
So I flashed the 91 canned tune and the car likes it. I have all 8 obd monitors, and waiting to see if they complete.

But I have an idle issue. The car idles 100 rpms above set target. It will idle at set speed for about 10 seconds and tben rise to set plus 100 revs. Tried setting idle up/down, same thing. Idle will rise to plus 100 every time. This only happens with the canned tune.

Also, I get quite a bit of decel "crackle". Again, only with the canned tune.

So, is this by design of the 91 tune?


Posts: 55253
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

what vehicle are we discussing?
CAI installed?
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 36
Same 2013 Coyote. Currently 100% stock, stock airbox with stock paper air filter.


Posts: 55253
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Post the files from the tunes folder and we'll check it out.
A log of the idle would be great too.


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 36
Attached are the backup, last tune written, and idle log.
Additional info: Idle is fine and steady at set speed as long as the Vehicle is MOVING. As soon as I come to a stop, in about 7 seconds goes to +100. A tiny throttle blip will bring it back to set 650 rpms, and in 7 seconds rises to 750.
The decel burble/crackle I'm on the fence on, its kinda cool, but a bit ricey... Even my race tune is not as pronounced.
I can live with the decal burble, but not so much the idle. I noticed while logging idle, timing advances 8* or so at the time of the idle increasing. (manual trans, tremec magnum xl)
Also, Mike, if you can, please check and see if the emission monitors can/will complete. The car has stock exhaust headers, magnaflow catted x pipe, all emission components installed and seem to be working from what I can tell monitoring the PCM operation.

Viewing live pcm data in Forscan, idle control is "dashpot" when idle is at set speed. As soon as idle control switches to "learn", idle rises.

Thanks.

J
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Juice on Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Posts: 36
Definitely speed/moving. From a stop, with idle high I just let it start rolling. As soon the speedo moved, idle dropped to set speed.


Posts: 36
Any progresson the idle issue Mike? Tune runs great but the high idle I.cant live witb.


Posts: 55253
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

I have asked the calibrations team to look into this.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 36
CEL on the way home, "idle control, idle higher than expected".


Posts: 55253
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Please return to stock and update the device then reload and let me know if that resolves it.


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 36
I updated my I2 saturday before instaling the 91 canned tune.
Is there a new update since ?


Posts: 55253
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

if so you can restore then reload the tune.
The new tunes dont apply if you dont restore the stock tune at some point.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 36
Ok. Will restore, update device and reinstall tune.


Posts: 36
No change.
Restored to stock.
Went to update device, updater prompted to update device. Clicked "yes" but, see screen shots.

Loaded "easy tune, 91, no CAI" and idle rises after some time. Same as before.

Why is the software looking for backup files? You told me to restore to stock, which removes the vehicle/license from device. And this is a manual trans car, so why even look for a TCM backup??
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Posts: 55253
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

OK, so the idle issue is still the same?
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Next

Return to i2/i3 for Ford vehicles