Board index General Technical Support General Support What if the truck i just bought has a previous tune??

What if the truck i just bought has a previous tune??

General Tech Support Questions

Moderators: mikel, 06MonteSS


Posts: 5
I just bought the predator 2 for my truck like 5 minutes ago off the website. My only concern is, I recently bought a 2016 silverado 1500 z71 4x4 with a lift and 35" tires a couple weeks ago. The dealership said they dont know much of the vehicles history because it was an auction purchase. (i think they bought it stock from the auction and had a lift and wheels installed to upsell the vehicle) the carfax also says the vehicle was a one owner leased vehicle.. so i cant imagine someone doing extensive work on a leased vehicle. So my question is... What if i plug the tuner in from you guys and it comes up saying something like "there is a different tune currently installed on the vehicle" or something of that nature? do i return the predator 2? or what happens? just really hoping the truck is bone stock... Thanks for any feedback. Happy new year!

-Geoff


Posts: 54709
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

the P2 will tell you its a non stock file and ask you to contact us, and we can generally get them back to stock.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 5
mikel wrote:
the P2 will tell you its a non stock file and ask you to contact us, and we can generally get them back to stock.


UPDATE: I first updated the unit on my pc. plugged it in, and it read my engine and transmission. Then it said "Calibration Files Not Stock"

then i looked at the info and it says "Tuning level- Stock"

the only thing that lead me to believe it was tuned was the fact that the AFM has never come on. I asked the dealership if they know. but they said they bought it from auction and dont know anything about it or the previous owner.

Hopefully you can help. I dont want to have to return the tool. I called your 800 number but you are closed on sat and sundays : (

Thanks. Hope to hear back soon.


Posts: 54709
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

have you been able to reach our team so they can get this handled for you?

561-908-0040 x4


Thans
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 5
mikel wrote:
have you been able to reach our team so they can get this handled for you?

561-908-0040 x4


Thans


yes. just got off the phone with maybe you? I used the number and what im guessing is your extension(4). hopefully the problem can be resolved and in a timely manner. Thanks mike. appreciate the help.


Posts: 5
mikel wrote:
have you been able to reach our team so they can get this handled for you?

561-908-0040 x4


Thans


Hey Mike. Is there any chance you could give me an idea of turn around time on this fix? It's been a few days now and wasn't sure how long it takes for your engineering team to update the tool to allow me to use it. Thanks


Posts: 54709
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Geoff, sorry for the delay, this was done on 1/9. You should be good to update and tune.
Did you not receive an email from the ignition software letting you know the update was ready?


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Posts: 5
mikel wrote:
Geoff, sorry for the delay, this was done on 1/9. You should be good to update and tune.
Did you not receive an email from the ignition software letting you know the update was ready?


Thanks


Thank you Mike for the quick reply on here. I did not receive an email. I checked all inbox. No worries though. I did the update and everything worked perfectly! Thank you again and I will be leaving a positive review on the product and the customer service. Thanks again for helping resolve the issue. Have a great day.

-Geoff


Return to General Support