Board index inTune i-1000 Technical Discussion General inTune forum switching cars??

switching cars??

Post questions or any issues with your inTune here.
Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:09 pm

Posts: 6
If I wanted to use my intune on another car of mine, are there any special things to do before I do so? Will the intune hold my stock tune for my dodge magnum and multiple vehicles or do I need to return it to stock before trying it in another car (which would completely defeat the purpose)? Is there a way to save/copy my stock tune onto my pc and then try the intune on another car?

I know you guys say it can be used on multiple vehicles which is why I ask.

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:27 pm

Posts: 53798
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

you'll need to return the first vehicle back to stock to tune another vehicle.

Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:33 pm

Posts: 6
That sucks... For the money I would've hoped I can tune more than one of my own personal vehicles. There's always a way and I'm sure it can be done. If a custom tune can be added then it can be saved to PC and put back in. So we should be able to do the same with the stock tune. I'll look into it when I decide to do so.

Like I said, you guy say it can be used on multiple vehicles which in a way is true but why would I want to return a tuned vehicle back to stock just to tune another one of my cars. That is redundant. Also, to tune my Dodge magnum is a mission because I have to disconnect the battery just to get it to work. You guys never worked out that issue with the system and I hope that you will take the time to do so and send an update. God knows if I'll be able to reset my car to the stock tune. Didn't work the last time I tried. System got stuck every time I tried to.

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:43 pm

Posts: 53798
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

surely you can understand how we would be out of business for years now if the tool could just keep tuning vehicles, no?
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:16 pm

Posts: 6639
Location: Somewhere out there
"For the money"; Seriously? Show me some other mod for the same money that you can use on more then one car at a time. Hell, show me another mod for ANY AMOUNT OF MONEY that use can use on more then one car at a time. Diablo tuners are cheap. I can go and spend $3500 for a tune for the M, and its just for that one car. And I can't remove it and tune another car for the same money. You got a bargain, and its not good enough for you? :normal:
2017 BMW X3 xDrive35i
BMS Stage 1, aFe Drop-in

2000 Ford F150 SVT Lightning #3990 of 4966
Airaid Intake, 6# lower, Borla exhaust, 90mm SCT MAF, LFP Core, MagnaFlow Mids, Diablo tuned, etc.

2015 BMW 335i GT #1 of 1, as equipped
MPPK FBO.
404whp, 435wft/lbs

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:58 pm

Posts: 148
Location: Louisiana
I agree. Can't use the same mod on 2 cars at once.

BUT...
This is more of a tool than a mod. A very nice tool. Can't complain on the price but it would be "nice" if we could purchase a second license at a discount to put on a second vehicle if we own it... That could be a conflict to verify ownership of the vehicle but it could easily fixed by email a copy of the title or registration.

Then again diablo sports would loose alot OR make a lot based on this. Reason for that... Consumers may pay for the "tool" and purchase an additional license for second car while diablo didn't have to make another tool yet still make profit. Nobody has done that yet... Might literally steal business from the competition just for the fact of the ability to use one tool on multiple vehicles.

Just my 2 cents... Not complaining, just stating my opinion.I love my Intune :)

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Posts: 6
Mike_Levy wrote:
"For the money"; Seriously? Show me some other mod for the same money that you can use on more then one car at a time. Hell, show me another mod for ANY AMOUNT OF MONEY that use can use on more then one car at a time. Diablo tuners are cheap. I can go and spend $3500 for a tune for the M, and its just for that one car. And I can't remove it and tune another car for the same money. You got a bargain, and its not good enough for you? :normal:



1: I'm not complaining about the intune. Its amazing... I'm very content with it. Its a pain with my 05 Magnum because of the way Dodge set up the car but thats not Diablosports fault.

That being said, don't come at me like you have any idea why I said that. It was a statement and yes I said it.

I'm going off of what it said and as I stated, it is able to use on mulitiple cars and I hoped I could use it on more of my own.

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:22 pm

Posts: 6639
Location: Somewhere out there
It can be used on multiple cars. But only one at a time.
2017 BMW X3 xDrive35i
BMS Stage 1, aFe Drop-in

2000 Ford F150 SVT Lightning #3990 of 4966
Airaid Intake, 6# lower, Borla exhaust, 90mm SCT MAF, LFP Core, MagnaFlow Mids, Diablo tuned, etc.

2015 BMW 335i GT #1 of 1, as equipped
MPPK FBO.
404whp, 435wft/lbs

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:52 pm

Posts: 6
I believe we've already established that...

In any event, thanks for the info mikel

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:10 pm

Posts: 17
I'd imagine in the future the InTune will come with an option for you to register the Computer of two - three cars. Most people own two cars anyway.

Diablo really would go out of business if anyone could use their tuner on anyone else.

Post Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:20 pm

Posts: 342
You must be confusing it with HP Tuners and EFI Live. Those you have to buy licenses/credits to tune more than 1 vehicle which is at least $100 a pop. Same stuff a dyno tuner uses. Maybe Diablosport could look into offering the same licenses/credits to tune more than 1 vehicle at the same time rather than having to go back to stock on 1 to tune the other. They pretty much charge $179 to reset it, so a credit/license of $100-$150 would be fair.
Image
...to be supported by Diablosport...
Image


Return to General inTune forum