Board index i2/i3 Technical discussion i2/i3 for GM vehicles Lost i3 Tuner

Lost i3 Tuner

Post here with any questions regarding the use of the i2 on supported Chevrolet, GMC, Cadillac, Buick, and Pontiac applications.

Moderator: sohfast94

Post Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:51 am

Posts: 3
Hey folks,

A few weeks back I had my tuner on my desk, and it seems to have walked off :blowup: . Whether lost or tossed, I am most likely going to need to replace it.

I have a few things set on the truck currently, 91 tune, speedo fix, and firmer shifts.

What would I expect to happen when I get a replacement? I don't have the stock tune (it was saved on the i3) Am I stuck with having to get a replacement PCM/TCM as well or can a new i3 default or remove other settings? Or can I DL the stock tune somewhere if needed.

My new Monster trans has firmer shifting so the firmer shift tune is not necessary (in fact feels like a hammer in 2nd gear)

Appreciate any insight, and guidance.

-Deviat

Post Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:19 am

Posts: 54860
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

What vehicle is this specifically?
No copy of the backup saved somewhere?


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:53 pm

Posts: 3
Its a 2001 Suburban LS 1500.

No backup unfortunately. Made 2 changes and put it on my desk.

Post Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:31 pm

Posts: 54860
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

the early GM scan be tricky to get back to stock.
Better chance of doing it with a P2 than the i3 honestly, and even then it may require a dealer visit to get flashed back to stock.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:58 pm

Posts: 3
Thats what I was concerned with. Guess I'll try once more to rip apart the house, then if necessary bite the dust and get an appt at the Stealer.

Post Fri Jun 28, 2019 1:25 am

Posts: 15
is that 2001 old enough to where he could get a ecu from a junk yard that wouldn't need the relearn pin from the dealer? I wasn't sure if finding a ecu from a junk yard would be cheaper than having the dealer reflash his. I know my GM dealer charges 250 for a ecu flash. I asked before I bought my i3 in case i messed something up lol.
just a newb here who's never tune a fuel injected car before. A relic from years long passed when tuning was done with a few turns of a carb screw and few inches on the distributor and smelling the exhaust and listening to valves tap under heavy load.

Post Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:55 am

Posts: 54860
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

Most any pcm change here would require a reflash to get the VIN in there and make VATS work.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST


Return to i2/i3 for GM vehicles