Board index Trinity 2 T2 for Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep/Ram MDS keeps slipping on

MDS keeps slipping on

This area of the forum is for discussions relating to the T2 monitor/tuner on Chrysler vehicles.

Moderator: sohfast94

Post Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:44 pm

Posts: 11
I just updated my T2 today, still have symptoms.
The car "surges" while I am driving, mostly cruising. It seems to be kicking in and out of mds, after a while I get a P3497 code. I have my MDS off and I have tried both Diablo and modified stock tunes with the mds turned off.
I have read where another guy had this problem, you gave him a file to download, and it helped keep his mds off. I am guessing that file must contain my vin# to work for me.
Thanks!

Sherri Wacker
2013 Charger Pursuit, 5.7
2C3CDXAT9DH721121

Post Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:06 am

Posts: 56316
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

that code is pointing to a problem with the bank 2 MDS solenoid, you likely have an issue that needs to be repaired.

https://www.obd-codes.com/p3497
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Fri Sep 06, 2019 2:38 pm

Posts: 11
Regardless, if the system is turned off it doesn't know if the solenoids are working properly or not since it's not trying to activate them.

Post Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:07 am

Posts: 56316
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

It can still test the solenoids, its just being told that they are not used.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:41 pm

Posts: 11
It tests them on start up and they are fine, something happens while I'm cruising that it tries to slip into mds then back out, that's when it throws the code. It takes about 5-10 miles or so for it to set the code.
If there were a problem solenoid you would think it would NOT want to try to go into mds rather than the opposite.
Just trying to wrap my head around why this system is being like parasite trying so hard to worm itsself into engaging.
I'm not going to replace a part that I am disabling function on anyway- be it bad or not. I was just under the intake and all the wiring looked fine, as well. If I disconnect the solenoids, I get a cel right off from the self test.
I am not sure how your device works, but when I retrieved my tuning information, the file marked "lasttunewritten" in my tunes folder, the date on it is 01/19/2018. Does this mean my vehicle isn't being tuned? Is that the date the device was manufactured? I just went through the process to install the 91 octane tune and it said tuning was successful then I brought it inside to hook it to my computer to attach a copy to this post.
Thanks,
Sherri
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:15 am

Posts: 56316
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

the device does not have a clock, the dates are irrelevant ;)
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:09 pm

Posts: 11
OK so you've been a huge help. I guess when people ask me about Diablo I can just tell them good luck- it's a pretty 600.00 set of gauges.
Sorry to bother you.

Post Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:37 pm

Posts: 58
Wackercattle wrote:
OK so you've been a huge help. I guess when people ask me about Diablo I can just tell them good luck- it's a pretty 600.00 set of gauges.
Sorry to bother you.

Welcome to the club there are about 50 of us in different facebook groups I'm in that have giving up on Diablo and going to Hptuners.

Post Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:28 pm

Posts: 11
:lol: it's too bad- you get one tech and they're more than happy to help, next time you get one that's just a smart ass. He could have looked at the file and told me something constructive- but he didn't. Maybe I'll just write an editor and edit their files myself :mrgreen:

Post Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:02 pm

Posts: 56316
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

i didnt think you were asking for a file review. I thought you posted it asking why the dates were wrong and to confirm it was the actual last tune written.
it creates a new copy of the LTW file everytime you load a tune so the file there is always whatever you last loaded to the pcm.

The MDS is not disabled in the file you posted so I would start there.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:17 pm

Posts: 11
Thanks. I have tried modifying the stock tune with MDS off, the Diablo tune with mds off, and now the 91 octane tune with mds off. It goes through the entire process, and at the end says the tuning was successful.
I posted once before to make sure while choosing the mds toggle is supposed to be off to make sure I'm doing it correctly.
Is there something I'm missing?
Do I need to call in and get someone to walk me through it? It seems to be ignoring the mds choice.
Thanks again!

Post Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:23 am

Posts: 56316
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

I haven't seen issues with that switch not working, are you sure you are installing the tune each time you make the change?

Either way, custom tune to the device and then to the PCM and MDS will be disabled.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Post Thu Sep 12, 2019 10:30 am

Posts: 11
I will try that. I have made a Youtube video (I apologize its not too interesting) when I went out to get the tuner- this was the same tune I sent yesterday, then I tuned it again to Diablo tune. You can see if it's going correctly. It tells me it's tuned with mds off. If it's not turning mds off, is it even tuning the pcm? I also attached the new file from this morning. It does have a different date on it 3 days newer than the old one.
I will install the custom tune you sent me and drive the car today and get back to you.
There are two other threads I can find with the same problem, I think they both are Pursuit models as well. Maybe the pcm in a Pursuit is different? Weird.

My video https://youtu.be/B-CgatWPXs4

The other threads viewtopic.php?f=69&t=78821&p=364767&hilit=mds#p364767
viewtopic.php?f=69&t=70385&p=365704&hilit=mds#p365704

Thanks a lot!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:27 am

Posts: 11
So I loaded the tune and ran it as it was (I don't think it had any options) and it did turn off the mds.
So if my Diablo isn't turning off my mds with the factory tunes, is it even tuning my car at all? Why wouldn't it turn off mds the way it was written?
Thanks

Post Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:27 pm

Posts: 56316
Location: DiabloSport World Headquarters

I haven't had any recent issues with the MDS switch.
There was a bug where it was mapped wrong maybe a year or so ago, but its been corrected for some time.
Its possible the device cached the broken parameter.
if so, the best thing to do is go back to stock then reload the tune to force it to use the updated parameters.


Thanks
Mike Litsch
Powerteq Customer Service Manager
Diablo Tech support by phone:
561-908-0040x4
M-F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST

Next

Return to T2 for Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep/Ram