Page 1 of 2

"This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:11 pm
by nymn003
I just got my 99 f350 7.3 with a predator serial: 9007218 part:u7170 version: v.9r04( i think, my screen is scratch to hell and hard to read). I was having some issues with the truck and I was thinking it might be the tune so I set it back to stock. well it didn't help it actually ran worse. I tried to re install the tune and it said "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle" am i installing it wrong? or did I mess something up? first time using a Diablo

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:15 pm
by mikel
did you try it in another vehicle at any point?

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:20 pm
by nymn003
Nope. I literally tried to reinstall it in the same truck an hour after putting it back to stock

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:26 pm
by mikel
options/show last tune written, what does it say?


Thanks

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:51 pm
by nymn003
Original backup then I hit continue
Calid:Mx
Vin:

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:01 pm
by mikel
please give us a call tomorrow with the tool powered up and we'll reset it for you.

Thanks

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:36 pm
by nymn003
What info will I need when I call?

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:01 am
by mikel
just tell them Mike L told you to call to reset the tool ;)

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:06 pm
by nymn003
Ok reset my tool with no problem. Thanks guys. Next question can or how do I change my tire size on it? Sorry if this a dumb question. Lol

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:59 pm
by mikel
No can do.... :(

The 7.3 models do not support tire size changes, as thats done through the ABS module...

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:39 pm
by nymn003
Ok I'm dumb but does that mean the truck can't be adjusted for tire size or just not with this tuner? Sorry

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:49 pm
by mikel
right, the U7170 has no ability to modify the tire size on a 7.3

Thanks

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:24 pm
by nymn003
Ok truck ran great drove around for about an hour and then let the truck sit(off) for about 2 hours an I just went to get in the truck I started, ran for like 10 sec then stalled out. Then it won't start up at all just crank.... Anything with the tune or probably somthing else with the truck????

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:02 am
by mikel
the tune cant change, so...it is 99% something with the truck itself.

Any codes?

Re: "This tool is not licensed for use with this vehicle"

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:09 pm
by Svt03lightning
Im having the same problem ive been in the line for and hour now.. How i reset it??