2007 Mustang GT w/ Predator u7145

Predator support for Ford gas vehicles

Moderator: mikel

Global_Saffer

2007 Mustang GT w/ Predator u7145

Post by Global_Saffer »

Hi all,

I'm brand new to tuning, and to the Mustang community. Looking for a bit of info and assistance. I would have asked 3 weeks ago when I got the car, but I've been struggling to register on the forums :/

I recently bought an almost immaculate condition 07'GT (35k miles) with quite a few upgrades installed, and a Predator 1 u7135 tuner. The car belonged to an older teacher in my area, who passed away and his widow traded the car in with our local Toyota dealership. She was able to give me a folder with all the paperwork her husband kept on the car. Its receipts and service records going all the way back to the start of the cars life. She is not 100% certain that everything is in there but is "pretty sure" so I have to take it at that. The car came with the AirRaid Hard Shift tune installed, but the tool had the original firmware on. Being the computer geek that I am, I updated the tool as per the instructions and it all went fine. I did notice that when the stock tune was installed the car ran really rough. I started it up for under 5 seconds just out of curiosity and didn't drive it. With the updated firmware (v9 something) I loaded the AirRaid/Roush Hard Shift tune (I assume this is just the updated version of the AirRaid tune it had on) and the car runs smoothly again.

My first question is: What upgrades is the AirRaid/Roush Hard Shift tune designed to work with? I've scoured the website but can't find any info.

My second question is: How can I tune the car as more of a daily driver? I read somewhere that the Hard Shift tunes can be rough on the transmission over long terms use. I want traction control on, the car tuned for 91 octane gas, and with fuel efficiency in mind. What are my options? I know the tuning tool is pretty old, but it seems to work just fine.